Buttered Beef and Asparagus Orzo

I love to cook (and bake!). In fact, I spend most of my time in the kitchen (I swear, I could live there!), but there are times I slack around. When that happens, I always end up running out of meal ideas and all I do is stare at the pantry (thank God for staples!).

This is the time I experiment. So far, I’ve been really lucky with my dishes. Another ‘pat-myself-on-the-back’ moment and I’ve got another go-to quick recipe.


buttered beef and asparagus orzo

Buttered Beef and Asparagus Orzo
Yield: 2-3 servings
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:
2/3 cup orzo
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 pound beef tenderloin roast, cubed
1 1/2 cups blanched asparagus, cut 1-inch
salt & pepper, to taste
parmesan cheese, for garnish

Directions:
1. Cook orzo according to package directions.
2. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, melt the butter. Add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Add the beef and season generously with salt and pepper. Stir fry until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Add the asparagus then turn off the heat.
3. Once the noodles are al dente, drain, then toss into the skillet with the beef and asparagus.
4. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and serve immediately.

Recipe by JG

Leave a Reply

